RSS Feed

Kind Bars


So in one of our Christmas baskets Jeff and I put a Kind Bar, because unlike most other bars on the market, it actually looked pretty cute as a basket stuffer.  Kind Bars had me weary at first because they just tasted too good to be true, so the next time I was at Starbucks getting my high-maintenance latte, I held the line up further to pick one up and analyze the front AND back of the bar.  I love cranberries and almonds, so I chose that to analyze.

Ingredients : Almonds, dried cranberries (cranberries, sugar, sunflower oil), macadamias, honey, non GMO glucose, puffed rice, chicory fiber, soy lecithin, Vitamins: Vitamin A Acetate, Ascorbic Acid (Vit C), D-Alpha Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E).

Vitamins and Minerals : Vitamin A (50% DV), Vitamin C (50% DV), Calcium (4% DV), Iron (4% DV), Vitamin E (50% DV), Phosphorus (8% DV), Magnesium (10% DV), Zinc (4% DV)

Serving Size : 1 Bar (40g)

So at 190 calories this bar is very good – it is also labeled at low-glycemic which means it has little effect on your blood sugar (when your blood sugar is unbalanced, your appetite and hormones become unbalanced causing weight gain, mood and sleep issues). Perhaps the only 2 things I felt mildy red-flagged about was the glucose (sugar) and sunflower oil – the sugar because I don’t like added sugar in foods, though the fat of the nuts would offset the unbalancing aspect of it, and the sunflower oil because it oxidizes very easily, which is not good for the body.

All in all, I really like these bars when I’m on the go or have forgotten to eat and need a quick bite to eat – they’re sweet, crunchy and quite delicious.

Leave a comment