RSS Feed

Burts Bee’s Natural Throat Drops

So it was Thanksgiving morning and I took a walk with Wolfgang in the stroller down Grand Ave in El Segundo to Rite Aid a little over a half mile away.  I went to get some items for our apartment like toilet paper and such, and I was starting to get a cold (sore throat, phlegm – yuck) so I was going to see if they had any good stuff that might help with the uncomfortable symptoms.  I got a box of anti-viral tissues, and as I looked over the cough drops (I actually LOVE eating cough drops like candy. Jeff says that’s really wierd) I noticed they pretty much all had toxic ingredients in them – even the ones with a ‘natural’ look to them, the ones that look like they’re from the early 1900’s from the only store in town with the bell on the door that jingles to let old man Larson know he has a customer.  I read food colorings (the inventor of these will not go near his inventions – he never intended his coloring to be put in food), high fructose corn syrup and its many other names, fructose, corn extracts like maltodextrin and other such ingredients.  Im sick – really? Do I want to be putting this stuff into my body? Even if I wasn’t sick? So I looked at the back of dozens of these cough drop packets and finally saw Burt’s Bees waaayy down at the bottom.

On the back, I noted no artifical:

  • Colors
  • Flavors
  • Preservatives
  • Sweeteners

Pretty good, ey? They do have sucrose (sugar) in them, as well as maltodextrin, which could make it unsafe for those allergic to gluten, but other than that the ingredients looked good, so I bought them. Quite delicious (I know that’s odd for many people) AND my throat felt better.

Leave a comment